Book Eight & Tattooing Myself!

cover-web

 

I’m not really a video person. I really do anything I can to skip them online, I’d rather find the transcript and skim it quickly than sit through a whole video of stuff I’m not interested in only to find out that the clip wasn’t what I needed anyway. Soooooo… here is me pushing my personal boundaries again.

First I have to tell you that I have been a hobby-tattooist for almost twenty years now. I started on coil machines and then took a break for a while, then came back to it when rotary machines began to get some traction. Over those years, I have tattooed on very, very few people other than myself. I prefer to learn -and live – with my own mistakes. Not that I wouldn’t welcome brave souls to practice on – just that this isn’t a career for me and never will be. I love what I do and everyone has to have a hobby, right? So, no, this isn’t a “how to” video. This is just a celebration of a particular space in time – my eighth children’s book has been released (Spider’s Big Idea) into the wild and I had something I wanted to do to commemorate. To each their own, please :)

Next, I’ve always wanted to have a reason to mess with iMovie. It took me the better chunk of the morning to get some momentum there, and I do profess to wanting to scrap the whole damn idea about two seconds after I opened the interface, but hey – I’m stubborn as HELL so there ya go. Not always my best feature, but sometimes it pays off.

So that is the background to my little cinematic toe-dipping. And without further adieu:

So YES! All my books are on Amazon.com for purchase and you can see more of my work on http://www.julianneblack.com. Ultimately, I’m hoping that you’ll share the video and maybe help me out with some book sales so I can fund my next project Dinosaurs Hate Doctors. I’ve applied for several grants for this book already and it is all finished and ready to go! I just need some start up money to launch some publishing options and be able to donate printed copies to some children’s hospitals that I know would appreciate it. And obviously, I’m not above showing up without make-up for an early morning filming of me torturing myself for some additional eyeball power to make that happen.

No, I’m not ready to crowd-source yet, still talking to some facilities that could possibly have the funding available to brand it as their own book. Fingers crossed :) Thanks for watching the video!

One Comment Add yours

  1. I feel like you need to know that as I was sitting here watching this, I ended up bopping along to Bowling For Soup with you. :D It was neat to see the process happening live, since I’ve been contemplating a tattoo of that logo you helped me with for YEARS now. (I’m just afraid I’m too much of a wuss to handle it. LOL.)

    Congratulations on Spider, and I wish you much luck in the process with Dinosaurs Don’t Like Doctors!

Leave a Reply

